Prophecies of Messiah – Exodus 17:6: The Rock of Israel

Prophecies of Messiah

Exo 17:6  Behold, I will stand before thee there upon the rock in Horeb; and thou shalt smite the rock, and there shall come water out of it, that the people may drink. And Moses did so in the sight of the elders of Israel.

Scripture declares that this Rock, spiritually, was Messiah Yahshua/Jesus.

1Co 10:3  And did all eat the same spiritual meat;
1Co 10:4  And did all drink the same spiritual drink: for they drank of that spiritual Rock that followed them: and that Rock was Christ.

Messiah, the Rock, gives the living waters.

Joh 4:10  Jesus answered and said unto her, If thou knewest the gift of God, and who it is that saith to thee, Give me to drink; thou wouldest have asked of him, and he would have given thee living water.
Joh 4:11  The woman saith unto him, Sir, thou hast nothing to draw with, and the well is deep: from whence then hast thou that living water?
Joh 4:12  Art thou greater than our father Jacob, which gave us the well, and drank thereof himself, and his children, and his cattle?
Joh 4:13  Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again:
Joh 4:14  But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.
Joh 7:37  In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.
Joh 7:38  He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.
Joh 7:39  (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)

Isa 12:2  Behold, God is my salvation {ישועה ‘yeshuah’}; I will trust, and not be afraid: for Yah YHWH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation {ישועה ‘yeshuah’}.
Isa 12:3  Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation {ישועה ‘yeshuah’}.

ישועה ‘yeshuah’ is the source of the name Yahshua/Jesus.

Psa 36:7  How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings.
Psa 36:8  They shall be abundantly satisfied with the fatness of thy house; and thou shalt make them drink of the river of thy pleasures { עדן‛eden}
Psa 36:9  For with thee is the fountain of life: in thy light shall we see light.

Rev 21:6  And He said to me, It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the Ending. To the one thirsting, I will freely give of the fountain of the Water of Life.
Rev 22:17  And the Spirit and the bride say, Come! And the one hearing, let him say, Come! And the one thirsting, let him come; and the one desiring, let him take of the water of life freely.
Isa 51:3  For YHWH comforts Zion. He comforts all her desolations, and He makes her wilderness like Eden, and her desert like the garden of YHWH; joy and gladness shall be found in it, thanksgiving and the voice of singing praise.

Psa 36:9  For with You is the fountain {מקור ‘maqor’} of life; in Your light we see light.

H4726
מקר  /  מקור
mâqôr
BDB Definition:
1) spring, fountain

Notice the connection between the word for fountain and giving birth.  Out of the side of Messiah came forth water and blood to give birth to His Bride.

Strongs concordance

H4726
מקר    מקור
mâqôr  mâqôr
maw-kore’, maw-kore’
From H6979; properly something dug, that is, a (generally) source (of water, even when naturally flowing; also of tears, blood (by euphemism of the female pudenda); figuratively of happiness, wisdom, progeny): – fountain, issue, spring, well (-spring).

Brown Driver Briggs

H4726
מקר  /  מקור
mâqôr
BDB Definition:
1) spring, fountain
1a) spring
1a1) of source of life, joy, purification (figuratively)
1b) of the eye (figuratively)
1c) source (of menstruous blood)
1d) flow (of blood after child birth)

Lev 12:7  And he shall bring it near before YHWH, and shall atone for her; and she shall be cleansed from the fountain of her blood; this is the law of her who bears, whether a male or a female.

1Jn 5:5  Who is the one overcoming the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God?
1Jn 5:6  This is the One coming through water and blood, Jesus Christ; not by the water only, but by the water and the blood. And the Spirit is the One witnessing, because the Spirit is the truth.
1Jn 5:7  For there are three bearing witness in Heaven: the Father, the Word, and the Holy Spirit; and these three are one.
1Jn 5:8  And there are three who bear witness on the earth: The Spirit, and the water, and the blood; and the three are to the one.

The Spirit, the water, and the blood are one.  The Spirit is likened to the living waters (John 7:37-39), the living waters come forth from His throne (Revelation 21:6; 22:1-2, 14)  How does the blood connect to this?  Our bodies are a picture of His Temple.  His throne = the human heart from whence flows the river of life (blood)…

The eternal organs in our bodies are a shadow picture of the Kingdom.  Our bodies are His Temple (Ephesians 2:21-22; 5:30; 1 Corinthians 6:19).   In the book of Revelation (Chapter 4) John is shown a vision of the Throne of Elohim.  Around the throne and the 4 living creatures are 24 elders (Revelation 4:4) representing the 24 ribs surrounding the human heart.  From the heart blood is pumped to the Lungs.  As seen in Messiah in the Torah: Genesis 1:2-5 , the etymology of the English word ‘Lung’ traces back to the meaning of Light.  In our bodies our lungs have 7 vascular bundles called nodes.  These represent the 7 Spirits of God (Revelation 4:5; Isaiah 11:1-3).  These 7 Spirits/Ruach/Breathe are pictured in the earthly Tabernacle/Temple by the Menorah.  The Menorah is a picture of the Tree of Life.  The Light of the world.

Rev 4:5  And out of the throne come forth lightnings and thunders and voices. And seven lamps of fire are burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God;

The lightning corresponds to the electrical activity of the heart.  The thunderings are the ‘Lub Dub‘ of the heart.

The Aramaic Targums connect the Rock to the water and the blood spoken of in 1 John 5:5-8.

John Gill commentary on Numbers 20:11
And Moses lifted up his hand, and with his rod he smote the rock twice,…. At first it only brought out some drops, as Jarchi conjectures, and therefore Moses smote again, when it brought forth water plentifully: the Targum of Jonathan says,”at the first time it dropped blood, at the second time came out much water.”Could this be credited, it would make the agreement between this rock and Christ appear very manifest, from whom, when his side was pierced with a spear, there came out blood and water, John 19:34 for justification and sanctification. In what respect this rock was a type of Christ, as the other at Horeb, and the smiting of it an emblem of Christ being smitten with the rod of justice, according to the law of God, and of the abundance of water flowing from it, as typical of the abundance of grace, and the blessings of it, as coming through a smitten wounded Saviour; see Gill on Exodus 17:6, where the same things are said of another rock as of this, and both types of Christ:

and the water came out abundantly, and the congregation drank, and their beasts also; there was enough for them and their cattle; for it came out in great quantities, in large streams, so that it ran down like a river, and which gave them drink as out of the great depths, Psalm 78:15, where the Psalmist makes mention of rocks in the plural number, for there were two that were smitten in two different places, and at two different times; the one was at Rephidim, the other, as here, in Kadesh; the one was in the first year of Israel’s coming out of Egypt, this in the fortieth year of it; that was struck but once, this twice; of this second stone no mention is made by any traveller but one (a), who coming from Mount Sinai, says,”we passed by a large rock on our left hand, in which, as in the other rock which Moses struck with his rod, appear, from the bottom to the top, openings where water hath gushed out.”

(a) See a Journal from Cairo to Mount Sinai, 1722. p. 42, 43. Ed. 2.

Psalm 36 associates drinking His living waters to abiding under the shadow of His Wings.  Scripture links the Rock to this same concept.

Cleft of the Rock (Little Guy in the Eye)
Exo 33:11  And the LORD spake unto Moses face to face, as a man speaketh unto his friend. And he turned again into the camp: but his servant Joshua, the son of Nun, a young man, departed not out of the
Exo 33:18  And he said, I beseech thee, shew me thy glory.
Exo 33:19  And he said, I will make all my goodness pass before thee, and I will proclaim the name of the LORD before thee; and will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will shew mercy on whom I will shew mercy.
Exo 33:20  And he said, Thou canst not see my face: for there shall no man see me, and live.
Exo 33:21  And the LORD said, Behold, there is a place by me, and thou shalt stand upon a rock:
Exo 33:22  And it shall come to pass, while my glory passeth by, that I will put thee in a clift of the rock, and will cover thee with my hand while I pass by:
Exo 33:23  And I will take away mine hand, and thou shalt see my back parts: but my face shall not be seen.

Psa 91:1  He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide in the shade of the Almighty.

Psa 91:2  I will say to YHWH: My Refuge and my Fortress, my God; I will trust in Him.

Psa 91:3  For He delivers you from the fowler’s snare, from destruction’s plague.

Psa 91:4  With His feathers He will cover you, and under His wings you shall seek refuge; His truth is a shield and buckler.

Psa 91:5  You shall not fear the terror of night, nor of the arrow that flies by day;

Psa 91:6  of the plague that walks in darkness, nor of the destruction laying waste at noonday.

Psa 91:7  A thousand shall fall by your side, and a myriad at your right hand; it shall not come near you.

Psa 91:8  Only with your eyes you shall look, and see the retribution of the wicked.

Psa 91:9  Because You, O YHWH, are My refuge; You make the Most High Your habitation*,

*Making the Most High our habitation; Abiding in the Almighty

Psa 71:3  Be a rock of strength for me, to which I may always go; You have given a command to save me; for You are my rock and my fortress.

The Rock is associated with dwelling under His wings as well.

Psa 71:4  O my God, deliver me out of the hand of the wicked, and out of the hand of the unjust and the ruthless.

Psa 71:5  For You are my hope, O Lord YHWH, my trust from my youth.

Psa 71:6  I have rested on You from the belly; You are He who took me out of my mother’s womb; my praise shall be always of You.

Psa 71:7  I am like a wonder to many, but You are my strong tower.

Pro 18:10 The name of YHWH is a tower of strength, the righteous runs into it and is set on high.

HIS NAME=HIS CHARACTER=HIS WORD=YAHSHUA/JESUS.  Dwelling in the Rock=abiding under the shadow of His wings=dwelling in the strong tower=abiding in the Word=abiding in Him.

Psa 91:10  no evil shall happen to You, nor shall any plague come near Your tent.

Psa 91:11  For He shall give His angels charge over You, to keep You in all Your ways.

Psa 91:12  They shall bear You up in their hands, that You not dash Your foot on a stone.

Psa 91:13  You shall tread on the lion and adder; the young lion and the serpent You shall trample under foot.

Psa 91:14  Because He has set His love on Me, therefore I will deliver Him; I will set Him on high because He has known My name. (Pro 18:10)

Psa 91:15  He shall call on Me and I will answer Him; I will be with Him in distress; I will rescue Him and honor Him.

Psa 91:16 I will satisfy him with length of days (eternal life), and will make Him see My salvation (Hebrew: ישׁוּעה ‘yeshua’ the source of the name Yahshua/Jesus).

Here we can see that those who abide in the shadow of His wings will be protected from adversity, they will be given eternal life and will see Yahshua/Jesus.

Psa 61:2  From the end of the earth I call to You when my heart faints; Oh lead me to the Rock that is higher than I. (Again we see the Rock associated with abiding under His wings)

Psa 61:4  I will dwell in Your tabernacle* forever; I will trust in the shelter of Your wings. Selah.

Under His Wings=the apple of His Eye=the Little Guy in His Eye=His covenant Bride=His Body

Psa 63:7  For You have been a help to me, and I will rejoice under the shadow of Your wings.

Psa 63:8  My soul is cleaved (clings Deu 10:20; 11:22) after You; Your right hand (Messiah) upholds me.

Abiding in the cleft of the rock = abiding under the shelter of His wings

Psa 61:4 I will dwell in Your tabernacle forever; I will trust in the shelter of Your wings. Selah. Abiding in the Tabernacle = abiding in the shelter of His wings

Rev 7:15  Because of this they are before the throne of God, and serve Him day and night in His sanctuary. And He sitting on the throne will spread His tabernacle over them.

Psa 27:5  For in the day of evil He shall hide me in His shelter; in the secrecy of His tabernacle He shall hide me; He shall set me up on a rock.

Rock of Etam

Jdg 15:8  And he struck them hip on thigh, a great slaughter, and went down and lived in the cleft of the rock Etam.

H5862

עיטם

‛êyṭâm

BDB Definition:

Etam = “lair of wild beasts”

A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: from H5861

H5861

עיט

‛ayiṭ

BDB Definition:

1) bird of prey, a swooper

Part of Speech: noun masculine

A Related Word by BDB/Strong’s Number: from H5860

Samson dwelling in the cleft of the Rock (Messiah) at Etam (Eagles wings).

The root word of עיטם ‘Etam’ is עט.

ayit

Here we see that the word Etam means an eagle’s wings in the sense of wrapping.  Samsom dwelt in the cleft of the Rock (Rock = Messiah 1 Cor 10:4) in the city of Etam (wrapped in eagles wings).

It is also interesting that the word for pen/stylus comes from this same root word and is associated with the eagle’s/bird of prey’s talons. This is yet another association of the eagles wing’s with the Word.

ayit 2
Abiding under the shadow of His wings = abiding in the Word/Messiah.

Dwelling in the cleft of the Rock is also teaching about intimate relationship with the Almighty.

Exo 33:18  And he said, I pray, let me see Your glory.

Exo 33:19  And He said, I will cause all My goodness to pass before your face. And I will call out* the name of YHWH before your face. And I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy.

Exo 33:20  And He said, You are not able to see My face; for no man can see Me and live.

Exo 33:21  And YHWH said, Behold, a place by Me! And you shall stand on a rock.

Exo 33:22  And as My glory is passing it will be that I will put you in a cleft of the rock; and I will cover My hand over you during My passing.

Exo 33:23  And I will remove My hand, and you shall see My back; but My face cannot be seen.

1Ki 19:9  And he came there to the cave, and lodged there; and behold, the Word of YHWH came to him, and said to him, What are you doing here, Elijah?

1Ki 19:12  And after the earthquake was a fire, but YHWH was not in the fire; and after the fire came a still, small voice.

The still, small voice of YHWH is what we hear when we are walking intimately with Him.

Scripture defines YHWH as the Rock.  Yahshua/Jesus is YHWH/THE LORD.

Psa 18:2  The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.
Psa 18:31  For who is God save the LORD? or who is a rock save our God?
Psa 62:7  In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.
Psa 92:15  To shew that the LORD is upright: he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.
Deu 32:3  Because I will publish the name of the LORD: ascribe ye greatness unto our God.
Deu 32:4  He is the Rock, his work is perfect: for all his ways are judgment: a God of truth and without iniquity, just and right is he.
Isa 44:8  Do not dread, nor be afraid. Have I not declared and made you hear since then? So you are My witnesses: Is there a God besides Me? Yea, there is none. I have not known a Rock.

Gen 49:24  His bow abides in strength, and the hands of his arms are made agile by the hands of the Mighty One of Jacob, from the Shepherd, the Rock of Israel.

Rashi commentary on Genesis 49:24



The word for Rock is אבן (eben).  Rashi (Genesis 49:24) comments, the word eben, rock (a symbol of permanency), is a contraction of the words av ooben, father and son.

For more on the subject of the Messiah see:

Yahshua is Messiah YHWH

littleguyintheeye@gmail.com

Blessing2

One comment on “Prophecies of Messiah – Exodus 17:6: The Rock of Israel

  1. Verse 2. I shall not be greatly moved. ] Having God for my rock-strong fortified place , for my salvation-continual safety , and my defense-my elevated tower , which places me out of the reach of my enemies ; I shall not be greatly moved-I may be shaken, but cannot be cast down.

Leave a Reply

